fbpx

Filling out and up

• Filling out and up

Posted by Ryan Johnson on October 29, 2018 at 8:18 am

Hey guys! Thought I would put this out there just to see what kind of response I would get. I have been teaching R&R for going on 3 years now and have never encountered this problem. I have several new players on both my 7th grade and 8th grade teams that are having a hard time grasping the fill out and fill up concept. We have drilled and drilled. I have had them walk through it. I have had my more experienced players tag up with them and they are still a little lost. Any suggestions on another approach would be great.

Ryan Johnson replied 5 years, 6 months ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • Byron Brown

October 29, 2018 at 9:14 am

Okay I learned this from Coach TJ Rosene at one of the R & R camp years ago and it still works with my new players coming in. He said have them talk out everything that they are doing if they are filling make them say and when they are on the baseline have them coach the players.

I hope this helps you and much success to you and your team.

• Coach Rick

Organizer
    October 29, 2018 at 2:03 pm

I agree with Byron. As the ball begins to move, it will sound like:
    “I’m cutting”
    “I’m filling out”
    “I’m filling or I’m filling up”
    “I’m Posting”
    “Laker Cut high”
    “Laker Cut Low”
    “Driving right”
    “Right – Right”
    “Driving Left”
    “Left – Left”
    “Dribble-At – Go!”
    “Pin – Pin”
    “Back screen”

If you add your defense talking, you’ll have the sound of a winning practice! “A quiet gym is a losing gym.”

• Ryan Johnson

October 30, 2018 at 8:16 am

Coach Brown and Coach Rick,