fbpx

Shooting the 3

• Shooting the 3

Posted by Coach Pierce on November 23, 2022 at 10:55 am

Hi All –

I am new to the Read and React but I’m really loving it. We installed it last week and my players are getting the concept.

One of my issues is that I have two incredible 3 point shooters. If they are open, they shoot about 60% from 3 in practice. Needless to say, I like it when they shoot.

What rules have you all used to green light a 3 points shot? They are set up 3 feet behind the read line, so they would need to step up to take that shot. I’m just not sure when to tell them to fire at will.

Also, are there some plays you like to run out of the R&R 5 out that get open 3 point shots for great shooters?

Thanks in advance for your advice and help.

Coach Rick replied 1 year, 4 months ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Coach Ralph

November 23, 2022 at 2:15 pm

I’ll let others chime in here, but I never ran special plays for my best 3 point shooters. Maybe I should have, but there are enough opportunities naturally occurring that I didn’t think it was necessary.
    If you want one drill that mimics a situation you will run into all the time, it’s a pernitrate and pitch drill ie..circle move. Make sure that your shooters know that when someone drives the lane, its showtime for them, and they cannot stand and watch.

• Coach Pierce

November 24, 2022 at 4:28 pm

Thank you coach! What “rules” do you use for shooting, is it as simple as “Shoot if you are open.” Or is it more complicated than that?

• James

November 24, 2022 at 9:47 am

There are about 100+ sets out of read and react in the quick-hitter section, 5-0, 3-2, and 4-1.

• Coach Rick

Organizer
    November 25, 2022 at 9:21 am